Nigeria Commissioners For Agriculture Forum Elects New Chairman

Kano State Deputy Governor, Dr. Nasiru Yusuf Gawuna has been elected on thursday as the Chairman of Forum of 36 States Commissioners for Agriculture at its inaugural meeting of Community Of Practice (C.O.P) held at Chida International Hotel Abuja.

From a statement signed by the Chief Press Secretary to the Deputy Governor of Kano State, Hassan Musa Fagge, a copy of which was made available to the Spectacles on Thusday, 24th March, 2022.

The statement read, “Gawuna who has been a Commissioner of Agriculture since 2014 was unanimously elected by the Commissioners of Agriculture in the country to lead their forum due to his commitment and contribution to the development of the sector”.

While thanking members of the forum of the C.O.P for reposing their confidence in him, the Deputy Governor assured of continued contribution towards implementing policies and programmes initiated by the Federal and States Governments to develop agricultural activities.

In attendance during the meeting were the Minister of State for Agriculture and Rural Development Alh. Mustapha Badaru Shehuri, the Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development Dr. Ernest Umakhihe, Commissioners of Agriculture from 36 States and other stakeholders.

The next meeting of the C.O.P of the States Commissioners of Agriculture will hold on 12th May 2022 in Kano.