Kano Assembly confirms Kwankwaso, 3 others as commissioner

The Kano State House of Assembly convened on Tuesday to conduct the screening and confirmation process for four commissioner-nominees, as forwarded by Governor Abba Yusuf. The nominees put forth for confirmation are Mustafa Rabi’u-Kwankwaso, Adamu Aliyu-Kibiya, Abduljabar Garko, and Shehu Aliyu-Yanmedi.

The proceedings commenced with initial preambles, leading to the dissolution of the committee of the whole, tasked with scrutinizing the nominees. Majority Leader Lawan Hussaini, representing NNPP-Dala, took the floor to move the motion for the confirmation of the nominees, with Minority Leader Labaran Madari, of APC-Warawa, seconding the motion.

After thorough deliberations, Speaker Ismail Falgore, representing NNPP-Rogo, called for a vote, which resulted in unanimous support for the confirmation of the nominees. The speaker then instructed the clerk to communicate the decision of the lawmakers to the governor’s office promptly.

Governor Abba Yusuf had previously submitted the list of commissioner-nominees on March 26, accompanied by the establishment of four new ministries under his administration. These ministries include Humanitarian Affairs, Power and Renewable Energy, Internal Security, and Solid Minerals. The confirmation of the nominees marks a significant step in the governance and administration of Kano State.