4 Former Govs and 21 Other Senators Yet to Sponsor Any Bills in 10 Months

Daily Trust’s investigation reveals that four out of the 13 former governors serving as senators, along with 21 other senators, have not sponsored any bills since the inauguration of the 10th National Assembly on June 13, 2023.

The ex-governors in the Senate include Senate President Godswill Akpabio (Akwa Ibom), Aliyu Wammako (Sokoto), Abdulaziz Yari (Zamfara), Aminu Tambuwal (Sokoto), Adams Oshiomhole (Edo), Ibrahim Dankwambo (Gombe), Abubakar Bello (Niger), Orji Kalu (Abia), Seriake Dickson (Bayelsa), Adamu Aliero (Kebbi), Danjuma Goje (Gombe), Gbenga Daniel (Ogun), and Simon Lalong (Plateau).

According to a document obtained from the National Assembly, from June 13, 2023, to March 14, 2024, a total of twenty-five senators, including four former governors, have not sponsored any bills.

Among these former governors, Senators Seriake Dickson (PDP-Bayelsa West), Adams Oshiomhole (APC-Edo North), Abdulaziz Yari (APC-Zamfara West), and Simon Lalong (APC-Plateau South) are yet to present any legislation. However, Lalong assumed his senatorial duties in December 2023 after a court ruling.

Other senators who have not sponsored any bills include Victor Umeh (Anambra Central), Titus Tartenger Zam (Benue North West), Anthony Ani (Ebonyi South), Imasuen Neda Bernards (Edo South), Oluwole Fasuyi Cyril (Ekiti North), Okechukwu Ezea (Enugu North), Chukwu Chizoba (Enugu East), Kaila Samaila Dahuwa (Bauchi North), Abdul Ningi (Bauchi Central), Khabeeb Mustapha (Jigawa South West), Rufai Hanga (Kano Central), Abdulaziz Yar’adua (Katsina Central), Mohammed Dandutse Muntari (Katsina South), Peter Jiya (Niger South), Adegbonmire Adeniyi Ayodele (Ondo Central), Oyewumi Kamorudeen Olalere (Osun West), Pam Dachungyang (Plateau North), Onyesoh Allwell Heacho (Rivers East), Ibrahim Lamido (Sokoto East), Manu Haruna (Taraba Central), and Musa Mustapha (Yobe East).

However, Ani, Dachungyang, and Mustapha were sworn into the Senate at later dates.

When contacted for comments, Senator Oshiomhole stated that he is working on a bill and intends to present it soon. His media aide, Victor Oshioke, confirmed that Oshiomhole has sponsored a motion on the Benin-Auchi Road and plans to introduce his own bill shortly.

Senator Lalong’s media aide, Simon Makut, affirmed that Lalong will indeed sponsor bills.

Senators Dickson and Yari did not respond to requests for comment. Despite multiple attempts, Dickson neither answered phone calls nor replied to messages sent since Friday, while Senator Yari did not answer calls or respond to follow-up messages since Saturday.

Daily Trust’s findings also indicate that while none of the four senators has sponsored any bills, nine others have at least one bill to their credit.

In total, 279 bills have been sponsored in the Senate between June 2023 and March 14, 2024.

Among the former governors in the Senate, Senator Orji Kalu (APC-Abia North) leads with five bills, followed by Senator Gbenga Daniel (APC-Ogun East) with four bills.

Senate President Godswill Akpabio has sponsored two bills, while Senators Danjuma Goje (APC-Gombe Central), Ibrahim Hassan Dankwambo (PDP-Gombe North), Abubakar Bello (APC-Niger North), Aliyu Wammako (APC-Sokoto North), and Aminu Waziri Tambuwal (PDP-Sokoko South) have sponsored two bills each.

Political analysts emphasized the need for former governors in the Senate to fulfill their legislative duties to maintain relevance and contribute to national development. They urged these senators to prioritize impactful legislation for the benefit of their constituencies and the country as a whole.

Source: Daily Trust