10th NASS: Adams, Yari Other 22 Senators Yet to Sponsor Bill in One Year

ABUJA — Almost a year after their inauguration, 24 out of the 109 senators in the Nigerian National Assembly have not sponsored any bills. The remaining 85 senators have each sponsored at least one bill.

The 10th Senate, inaugurated on June 13, 2023, will mark its one-year anniversary on Thursday. Between July 13, 2023, and March 2024, a total of 279 bills were sponsored.

Lawmaking is a primary function of legislators. The Senate comprises 109 members, including 14 former governors. However, two of these, Senators David Umahi (APC, Ebonyi South) and Ibrahim Geidam (APC, Yobe East), were appointed as ministers by President Bola Tinubu. They were replaced by Senators Anthony Ani (APC, Ebonyi South) and Khabeeb Mustapha (PDP, Jigawa South West), respectively. Additionally, Senator Simon Lalong (APC, Plateau South) replaced Senator Napoleon Bali (PDP, Plateau South) following an Appeal Court judgment.

Ex-governors in the Senate

Currently, 13 former governors serve in the Senate. They include Orji Uzor Kalu (APC, Abia North), Senate President Godswill Akpabio (APC, Akwa Ibom North West), and Seriake Dickson (PDP, Bayelsa West), among others. Nine of these former governors have sponsored bills within the reviewed period. Orji Uzor Kalu has sponsored five bills, Senate President Godswill Akpabio two, and Gbenga Daniel four. Others like Adams Oshiomhole, Abdulaziz Yari and Henry Seriake Dickson have not sponsored any bills.

Senators yet to sponsor bills

Besides the former governors, the senators who have not sponsored any bills include Ahmad Lawan (APC, Yobe North), Victor Umeh (LP, Anambra Central), and Oluwole Fasuyi Cyril (APC, Ekiti North), among others.

Active lawmakers

Senate leader Opeyemi Bamidele (APC, Ekiti Central) leads with 23 bills, followed by Deputy Senate President Barau Jibrin (APC, Kano North) with 17 bills. Other notable contributors include Sani Musa (APC, Niger East) with eight bills, and Olamilekan Adeola (APC, Ogun West) with seven bills.

Summary of bills sponsored

Bamidele’s notable bills include the Supplementary Appropriation Bill, 2023, and the Defence Industries Corporation of Nigeria Act (Repeal & Re-enactment Bill, 2023). Barau Jibrin’s notable contributions include the Development Planning and Project Continuity Bill, 2023, and the In-Vitro Fertilization Bill, 2023. Sani Musa has sponsored the Nigerian Content in Programme, Contracts, Science, Engineering, Technology and Innovation (Establishment) Bill, 2023, among others.

Senator Orji Kalu’s contributions include the Coastal and Inland Shipping (Cabotage) Act (Amendment) Bill, 2023, while Senator Gbenga Daniel has sponsored the National Agency for Science and Engineering Infrastructure Act (Amendment) Bill, 2024.

As the Senate approaches its one-year mark, the activity and participation of its members continue to draw attention, highlighting both the active contributions and the lapses in legislative engagement.